STEM-climate change resiliency – Old

Climate Change and Resiliency

Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) Tribal Resilience Program

The BIA Tribal Resilience Program (BIA TRP) builds climate capacity and resilience of Federally-recognized Tribal Nations and Alaska Native Villages through:

  • Technical and financial assistance
  • Delivery of data and tools
  • Access to training and workshops
  • Facilitation of planning for climate adaptation and ocean and coastal management

The BIA TRP funds 7 of 8 total Tribal Resilience Liaison positions at non-profit tribal organizations across the nation. As employees of non-profit tribal organizations, the Tribal Resilience Liaisons are housed at the Department of Interior US Geological Survey Climate Adaptation Science Centers (CASC’s) to link tribal needs to regional data hubs.

AIHEC hosts Althea Walker, 1 of the 8 Tribal Resilience Liaisons, who is housed at the Southwest Climate Adaptation Science Center (SW CASC). This partnership has been in place since 2017.

The BIA TRP Tribal Resilience Liaisons serve as climate extension agents and work with Tribal Nations to best access and utilize information, data, and expertise available at the CASCs. They facilitate research and collaboration, coordinate forums and information exchange, and support tribal funding proposals.

The primary goal of the Southwest Tribal Resilience Liaison is to promote climate resilience of Tribal communities, Tribes, and Tribal Colleges and Universities (TCUs) within the SW CASC region, which includes Arizona, California, Nevada, and Utah. The Liaison also supports the SW CASC in achieving its objectives relative to Tribal Engagement.

Northeast Tribal Resilience LiaisonsFigure 1 L-R North Central, Southwest, and Northeast Tribal Resilience Liaisons

Climate Adaptation Science Centers

The mission of the National and Regional Climate Adaptation Science Centers (CASCs) is to deliver science to help fish, wildlife, water, land, and people adapt to a changing climate.

The CASC network is comprised of the National Climate Adaptation Science Center (NCASC) and eight regional CASCs, formerly named the Climate Science Centers, covering the continental U.S., Alaska, Hawai’i, and the U.S. Affiliated Pacific Islands. Each CASC is based out of a host university in their region and most are comprised of multi-institution consortia, which include university and non-university partners. Learn more about each of the CASCs below.

Climate Change Collaborative

(Language and Features Not Available Yet)

Atmospheric Research and Environmental Science at Sitting Bull College

Atmospheric Research and Environmental Science at Sitting Bull College.