TribalCol-AIHEC Student Conference

AIHEC Student Conference

Since the first AIHEC Student Conference in 1980, this annual event has grown from a few dozen participants to over 1,000 students, faculty, and staff coming together each spring to compete in academic, cultural, and artistic exercises; share stories, and best practices; participate in workshops and plenary sessions; and celebrate the Tribal College Movement.

As participation has grown, the conference has also grown in complexity and organization. In 2010, the AIHEC Board of Directors, composed of the nation’s Tribal College and University (TCU) presidents, requested that AIHEC and TCU staff begin the process of formalizing and standardizing the conference, including competition rules, participation requirements, judging, cost, etc. In 2013, the Board established the AIHEC Student Conference Commission to oversee this process.

AIHEC Student Conference Handbook

The AIHEC Student Conference Handbook is the result of the Commission’s continuing work. The AIHEC Student Conference Commission drafted the AIHEC Student Conference Handbook to acquaint member TCUs with the information needed to host the annual AIHEC Student Conference, typically scheduled in the spring semester of each year. The AIHEC member TCUs have assembled into five discrete regions. Every year, one of these five regions organizes a “host committee” consisting of knowledgeable individuals from each region’s TCUs. This committee plans and manages the annual AIHEC Student Conference.

Individuals from each of the host committee’s TCUs involved in the planning or managing of the annual AIHEC Student Conference should read, understand, and comply with all the policies and guidelines outlined in this AIHEC 2018 Student Conference Handbook. The handbook describes many of the events and responsibilities of the host committee and outlines helpful guidelines for each event or responsibility.

There are two main objectives of the AIHEC Student Conference Handbook: 1) To standardize the year-to-year rules, procedures, and awards of each student competition, and 2) to provide direction to new coordinators, judges, administrators, and TCU Presidents who might have never attended or contributed to the annual AIHEC Student Conference.

2020 Commissioners

Samantha Cameron
Carrie Schumacher
Jonnie Clifford
Koreen Ressler



Bay Mills Community College
Fort Peck Community College
Oglala Lakota College
Sitting Bull College
Southwest Commissioner

AIHEC Student Conference Commission Staff

Alex Grandon

Central Office